Windows Universal or Universal Windows – Part 1 #uwp #wpdev

Did I just say Windows Universal ? Sure that came and went with Windows 8.1.. If I am still talking about it… I mostly likely do not have anything useful to add. I am going to any ways.. Haters are gonna hate.

If you are contemplating a brand new Windows 10 app targeting Windows 10 device families like Windows.Desktop / Windows.Mobile etc you most likely have a Windows 8.1 or Windows Phone 8.1 app or both (or Windows Universal). If you don’t then you like many have been attracted by the idea of massive growth in Windows 10 install base since launch in August.

Yes Windows 10 will make it and your app will finally have a big big market however that day isn’t today. Windows Phone 8.1 still constitutes 90% of Windows on Mobile devices. Windows 10 on desktops is same as Windows 8.1 out there today. Yes a big chunk of them will eventually convert – maybe but they still haven’t.

App usage is important and growth is important and for that reason if nothing else you shouldn’t leave existing Windows 8.1 (phone included) out of this equation. Let me give you a personal example.

We (me working along with my employer) released our official app on Windows 10 Mobile to coincide with launch of Lumia 950 and Lumia 950XL on the 2nd of December. We started getting installs and reviews from around the world. I had left out Windows Phone 8.1 version because of a bug I couldn’t put my hand on. After a few days of messing around, we released Windows Phone 8.1 app on 15th December (17:00 hours). By end of day of 17th Windows Phone 8.1 accounted for 62.2% of the users and exceeded 70% on 18th.

Less than 3 days and 70% user base – don’t make them wait. Serve one serve them all.

Our app available on Windows Phone 8.1 and Windows 10 devices and can be downloaded Windows Store

All said and done I am hoping to follow my own advice about Window 8.1 users soon.

 

2 thoughts on “Windows Universal or Universal Windows – Part 1 #uwp #wpdev

  1. Pingback: Windows Universal or Universal Windows – Part 2 #uwp #wpdev | Invoke IT Limited

  2. Pingback: Dew Drop – January 11, 2016 (#2164) | Morning Dew

Leave a comment