Search charm and user input gotchas #win8dev #winrtdev

A while back I implemented external and in-app search using search charm. This means that from anywhere in the app or even from main metro start screen, the user can start typing (which causes search to popup) and assuming they choose Cineworld, the search is passed off to my app.

Fast forward about 2 months back when I was implementing user submitted reviews for films and cinemas. I realised that the text input wouldn’t accept a single character – instead would keep showing the search charm….

aayyee.. that’s the search implementation… so I needed to selectively disable it depending upon where user is and what the user is up to.. trying to implement something meant going to layoutaware page so I don’t have to keep doing this.. whilst I was trying to figure out what to do next, I came across AllowSearch method.. strange.. then it occurred to me that I had added that while I was implementing search

 

protected void AllowSearch(bool bAllowed)
{
    SearchPane.GetForCurrentView().ShowOnKeyboardInput = bAllowed;
}

 
so I went about calling this.AllowSearch(false); in pages where I didn’t want search enabled.

Fast forward a bit closer, last week, I was using WebView allow ticket purchase in-app.. I tried clicks etc but not the full login etc as I know that already works and that’s implemented by Cineworld themselves.. I submit that app and a user contacts me saying.. they can’t book tickets.. search charm keeps popping up…

Damn it.. I had totally forgotten about AllowSearh method. Lets hope this serves as a reminder to myself to remember this in future.
Happy coding

Leave a Reply

