Geolocator and MovementThreshold #wpdev #win8dev

Last few months, I have had too much on my plate. Been doing lot to Windows 8 and Phone development. Surprisingly Microsoft UK is keeping tabs on phone developers who aren’t adapting to #WP8 and seemingly, I was invited to a dev event targeting the likes of me 😛

Sure I am going and in anticipation of the event, I decided to port Cineworld app to WP8. Its been a challenging task. Reworking a few bits of LongListSelector, Visual Studio / Blend disliking all the xaml and of course a button style causing xaml exception. If that wasn’t enough:

Having used Geolocator in Windows 8 app, I decided to use the same for WP8 as its usually a lot faster than GeoCoordinateWatcher. I moved the code to be more like Win8 and noticed that the location detection was flaky at best. Now I did the stupid thing and like in WP7 version, I decided to set both DesiredAccuracy to High and MovementThreshold to 0 thinking absolutely nothing.

Of course that didn’t help it, it made matters worse, instead of flaky behaviour, it decided to call it quits.

var pos = await locator.GetGeopositionAsync(TimeSpan.FromMinutes(5), TimeSpan.FromSeconds(2));

instead of timing out, it started to hang. In desperation, I started looking at other events exposed by this class and tried hooking into StatusChanged event. Now things were bad, I noticed that it was getting operation aborted exception and decided that something was seriously wrong and that I should take a nap instead 🙂

Of course the problem was still there when I woke up the next day 😛 its only later that I decided to search on Geolocation and operation aborted and realised that I wasn’t the only one and it was all my fault – causality of me setting the MovementThreshold to 0. I set it to 10 instead and bingo.. it all works.

While I didn’t find it, I hope this post helps people like an earlier post helped me.

One thought on “Geolocator and MovementThreshold #wpdev #win8dev

  1. I wish it was that simple for me. My MovementThreshold was at 25 (I set to 10 to test) and the Geolocator still hangs. Stepping through the code hasn’t been any help, either. The only clue I have is that if I execute the same block of code again while the process is hung, then everything works fine. Weird.

Leave a Reply

